Burgos
Europe
Frassinoro
La Chaise-Dieu
Grandson

Home

The Abbey of La Chaise-Dieu.

On December 28, 1043, Robert de Turlande (Saint Robert) left Brioude (FRANCE – Haute-Loire – 43) with two companions in order to build a religious life in line with his expectations.
All three retire in a forest desert, as could be the current site of La Chaise-Dieu.
But very quickly, joined by a large number of young people attracted by the charisma and holiness of Robert, they must give up their life of hermits to form a small community under the rule of Saint-Benoit.
This small establishment quickly takes an important place in the religious life. Vocations and tributary gifts, and on land received, Robert founded the first small priory.

About 300 years after Saint Robert a monk of the Chaise-Dieu Pierre Roger becomes Pope Clement VI and declared by a bubble of 1432 to rebuild at his own expense the entire abbey church which will also become his tomb. After his death, Pope Gregory XI, nephew of Clement VI continued the work of his uncle, and the last regular abbots compete with zeal and generosity to embellish the monastery.

What is a Casadean site?

Casadean comes from Casa Dei which means “House of God” (in Latin). This is the name received by the abbey. It will change with time into God’s chair, where God resides. A Casadean site is a priory or abbey having been in touch with the Casadean congregation, and who “depended” on the Chaise-Dieu. It is on the basis of this historical network and the census work of the Casadean sites of Pierre-Roger GAUSSIN that our project of cooperation and exchanges between the old Casadean sites was built.

 

European network of Casadian sites

European Network of Casadean sites is an association law 1901, created on October 13, 2001 at the Chaise-Dieu, on a European scale with France, Spain and Italy then Switzerland. The purpose of the association is to create modern links between sites that have been in their history attached to the congregation of the Abbey of la Chaise-Dieu. The Network includes municipalities hosting a Casadian site, associations that highlight or animate one or more sites (associations for safeguarding or animation heritage, tourism offices, parishes, …) and anyone wishing to take part in the activities of the association.

Among the major objectives of this Network is the awareness of the local population and the general public of the past history of the Casadean congregation, the promotion of historical research, assistance to the development of the Casadean heritage, the cultural and tourist development of the sites, as well as exchanges and cooperation for economic development.

Quelques rubriques du site

Saint Robert’s History

The path : La Chaise-Dieu – Le Puy-en-Velay

Network life

Burgos
Europe
Frassinoro
La Chaise-Dieu
Grandson

Accueil

L’abbaye de La Chaise-Dieu.

Le 28 décembre 1043, Robert de Turlande (Saint Robert) quitta Brioude (FRANCE – Haute-Loire – 43) avec deux compagnons dans le but de bâtir une vie religieuse conforme à ses attentes.
Tous les trois se retirent dans un désert forestier, tel que pouvait l’être le site actuel de La Chaise-Dieu.
Mais très rapidement, rejoints par un grand nombre de jeunes gens attiré par le charisme et la sainteté de Robert, ils doivent renoncer à leur vie d’ermites pour former une petite communauté sous la règle de Saint-Benoit.
Ce petit établissement prend rapidement une place importante dans la vie religieuse. Les vocations et les dons affluents, et sur les terres reçues, Robert fonde les premiers petits prieurés.

Environ 300 ans après Saint Robert un moine de la Chaise-Dieu Pierre Roger devient le pape Clément VI et a déclaré par une bulle de 1432 vouloir rebâtir à ses frais l’ensemble de l’église abbatiale qui deviendra aussi son tombeau. Après son décès, le pape Grégoire XI, neveu de Clément VI poursuit l’œuvre de son oncle, ainsi que les derniers abbés réguliers rivalisent de zèle et de générosité pour embellir le monastère.

Qu’est-ce qu’un site casadéen ?

Casadéen vient de Casa Dei qui signifie « Maison de Dieu » (en latin). C’est le nom que reçut l’abbaye. Il se transformera avec le temps en Chaise-Dieu, lieu où réside Dieu. Un site casadéen est un prieuré ou une abbaye ayant été en lien avec la congrégation casadéenne, et qui « dépendait » de la Chaise-Dieu. C’est à partir de ce réseau historique et du travail de recensement des sites casadéens de Pierre-Roger GAUSSIN que s’est bâti notre projet de coopération et d’échanges entre les anciens sites casadéens.

Réseau européen des sites casadéens

Réseau européen des sites casadéens est une association loi 1901, créée le 13 octobre 2001 à la Chaise-Dieu, à l’échelle européenne avec la France, l’Espagne et l’Italie puis la Suisse. L’objet de l’association est de créer des liens modernes entre des sites ayant été au cours de leur histoire rattachés à la congrégation de l’abbaye de la Chaise-Dieu. Le Réseau regroupe les communes abritant un site casadéen, les associations qui mettent en valeur ou animent un ou plusieurs sites (associations de sauvegarde ou d’animation du patrimoine, offices du tourisme, paroisses, …) et toute personne désirant prendre part aux activités de l’association.

Parmi les objectifs majeurs de ce Réseau on trouve la prise de conscience par la population locale et par le grand public de l’histoire passée de la congrégation casadéenne, la promotion des recherches historiques, l’aide à la mise en valeur du patrimoine casadéen, le développement culturel et touristique des sites, ainsi que les échanges et la coopération pour le développement économique.

Quelques rubriques du site

Histoire de saint Robert

La Chaise-Dieu – Le Puy-en-Velay

Vie du réseau